Is Pushing Someone Considered Assault in Connecticut?

Our Vernon Criminal Defense Lawyers at the Law Offices of Jason L. McCoy, LLC Represent Clients Charged With Assault

The situation can escalate quickly when two people are involved in an altercation and tempers flare. A verbal argument can become a physical fight in a matter of seconds. If you are involved in a situation like this, and the other person suffers an injury, you could face assault charges, even if all you did was push or shove the other person after a heated exchange.

While this may come as a surprise, assault covers a range of behaviors, from pushing and shoving to using a deadly weapon to cause harm intentionally. The charges will depend on the severity of the crime and your intention to cause harm. If you have been charged with assault after pushing another person, it is highly recommended that you contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer at your earliest convenience.

What Is Considered Assault?

From a legal perspective, assault is any act that intentionally causes another person to fear injury or bodily harm. This threat does not require physical contact. In most cases, assault charges involve physical altercations or car accidents. However, an assault charge can be filed any time another person is injured as a result of another person’s use of force, with or without a weapon. There are varying degrees of assault based on whether the act was intentional, reckless, or negligent, how severely the victim was harmed if there was a weapon involved, and who the victim was. Depending on the severity of the crime, charges can range from a misdemeanor to a felony.

There are three degrees of assault charges in Connecticut. Depending on the type of assault you are charged with, you could face penalties ranging from steep fines to up to 20 years in prison.

What Are the Penalties for an Assault Charge?

The penalties for an assault charge will depend on the type and severity of the assault. The following are possible penalties associated with the three types of assault charges:

  • Possible penalties for first-degree assault:
    • Fines of up to $15,000.
    • Up to 20 years in prison.
    • A mandatory minimum sentence of five years in prison, which cannot be reduced or suspended under Connecticut law.
  • Possible penalties for second-degree assault:
    • Fines of up to $5,000.
    • Prison sentence of one to five years.
    • Mandatory minimum of one year in jail if there is a gun involved.
  • Possible penalties for third-degree assault:
    • Fines of up to $2,000.
    • Up to one year in jail.

When Is Pushing Someone Considered Assault?

While pushing someone may not seem like a particularly violent act, it can lead to an assault charge if you intend to cause harm or injuries to the other person. A push or a shove is usually considered offensive physical contact that can cause injuries. Depending on the circumstances of our case, the severity of the injuries that resulted from the push, and who you pushed, you may face a range of penalties. If the push involved only minor injuries, you may be charged with a third-degree assault, which is a misdemeanor offense. However, if the injuries are serious, you could be charged with a first or second-degree assault, which is a felony offense. In addition, if the person that you pushed was under the age of 10, elderly, blind, disabled, or pregnant, the penalties will be more severe.

Every assault charge can have serious legal repercussions, so it is in your best interest to contact a skilled criminal defense lawyer who can review the charges against you and recommend a defense strategy.

Our Vernon Criminal Defense Lawyers at the Law Offices of Jason L. McCoy, LLC Represent Clients Charged With Assault

If you are facing assault charges after pushing someone, it is highly recommended that you contact our Vernon criminal defense lawyers at the Law Offices of Jason L. McCoy, LLC as soon as possible. We will thoroughly review the details of your case and the charges brought against you. To schedule a free consultation, call us today at 860-872-7741 or contact us online. Located in Vernon, New Haven, and Waterbury, Connecticut, we serve clients in Tolland County, New Haven County, and Hartford County.