Skip to content

Connecticut DUI Attorneys

Connecticut DUI Attorneys –

Connecticut has strict driving under the influence (DUI) laws, which are designed to deter driving while impaired and ensure public safety. Whether or not you are impaired and arrested at the time police stop you is determined by your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level. Legal BAC limits in Connecticut include:

  • Standard drivers: BAC of 0.08 percent or higher.
  • Commercial drivers: BAC of 0.04 percent or higher.
  • Drivers under 21: BAC of 0.02 percent or higher.

The blood alcohol level depends on many factors, including time between drinks, food consumed, weight, and physical condition.

What Is Implied Consent in Connecticut?

Under Connecticut’s implied consent laws, drivers automatically consent to breath, blood, or urine chemical testing for alcohol or drugs when operating a vehicle, and refusing a test results in automatic suspension of your driver’s license.

If you are charged with DUI, you need an aggressive and experienced defense lawyer who will work to achieve the best possible outcome. Our experienced Connecticut DUI lawyers at the Law Offices of Jason L. McCoy, LLC can help you navigate the legal challenges of DUI charges, protect your rights, and work to minimize the penalties as best as possible.

What Happens If I am Arrested for a DUI?

If you are arrested on a DUI charge, you will be detained and transported to jail and held until someone can have you released on bail. Once released, you will be expected to attend your scheduled court date.

If you are arrested for DUI after refusing or failing a chemical test but not transported to jail, law enforcement will take possession of your driver’s license for 24 hours. You are not allowed to drive during the 24 hours, or you could be charged with driving under suspension for DUI, which carries a mandatory minimum jail sentence. Once the 24-hour limit expires, you can retrieve your license from the police station. You can drive until you receive notification of a per se license suspension from the DMV.

Following a DUI arrest, your vehicle will be towed to an impound yard. Most towing companies will not release your vehicle until the 24-hour period expires and you have your driver’s license. You should recover your vehicle as soon as possible, as most tow yards charge a daily storage fee.

What Are the Penalties of a DUI in Connecticut?

Connecticut has tough mandatory penalties, even for those who are first DUI offenders, which is why you need to have a lawyer who carefully examines the arrest and protects your rights. Protect yourself with the Law Offices of Jason L. McCoy LLC at your administrative hearing; a loss at the hearing will result in:

  • Loss of license for at least 90 days.
  • Loss of license for at least six months for refusing to take a blood, breath, or urine chemical alcohol analysis test.
  • Second, criminal penalties from the state court system apply. These penalties result from a DUI conviction and are imposed in addition to the administrative penalties from the DMV:
    • First offense: One-year license suspension; six-month jail sentence, with 48 hours mandatory minimum time in jail, or a suspended sentence with 100 hours of community service; fine from $500 to $1,000.
    • Second offense: One-year license suspension, followed by two years with ignition interlock device (for in-state violations featuring drivers at least 21); two-year jail sentence, with mandatory 120 days in jail; 100 hours of community service; fine from $1,000 to $4,000.
    • Third offense: License revocation; three-year sentence with one-year mandatory jail time; 100 hours of community service; fine from $2,000 to $8,000.

It is also important to understand that you can still face criminal charges and penalties even if your BAC is not above the legal limit. In such cases, law enforcement can determine that you are “impaired by an intoxicating substance.”

How Long Will a DUI Stay on My Record?

In Connecticut, a DUI conviction remains on your driving record permanently. However, the impact of the DUI on your insurance rates and other aspects of your driving history can diminish over time. For exact details or legal advice tailored to your situation, it is advisable to consult with a Connecticut DUI lawyer.

Do I Need a Lawyer for a DUI Charge in Connecticut?

You are not required to hire a lawyer, but with a serious charge such as a DUI, it would not be wise to do so. If you are facing a DUI charge in Connecticut, an experienced lawyer has a thorough understanding of Connecticut’s complex DUI laws and can provide valuable assistance, such as:

  • Determine your eligibility for alternative programs.
  • Build strong defenses,
  • Negotiate potential plea bargains.
  • Represent you in court.
  • Minimize long-term consequences.
  • Protect your rights.

Additionally, having a skilled lawyer by your side can provide you with the support and guidance needed to navigate the complexities of the DUI process, giving you peace of mind and ensuring that you are making informed decisions.

Our Connecticut DUI Attorneys at the Law Offices of Jason L. McCoy, LLC Will Help You if You Have Been Charged

Being charged with a DUI has serious and life-long consequences. If you have been charged with a DUI, you need our experienced Connecticut DUI attorneys at the Law Offices of Jason L. McCoy, LLC on your side. Call today at 860-872-7741 or visit us online to schedule a free consultation. Located in Vernon, New Haven, and Waterbury, Connecticut, we proudly serve clients in Tolland County, New Haven County, and Hartford County.

Protect your assets and discharge your debts through bankruptcy. Get your financial freedom back, it's your constitutional right.

Free initial phone consultation to evaluate your situation.

Call us now (800) 837-5901.