Skip to content

New Haven Car Accident Lawyers

New Haven Car Accident Lawyers –

Drivers in Connecticut are required to operate a vehicle in a manner that ensures the safety of everyone on the road. When they fail in this responsibility, serious car accidents happen, often causing significant injuries, damage, and pain and suffering.

At the Law Offices of Jason L. McCoy, our compassionate and skilled New Haven car accident lawyers are committed to holding negligent drivers accountable for the pain and injuries their reckless actions cause. We have recovered tens of millions of dollars for our injured clients and will fight for the justice and compensation you deserve.

What Types of Car Accident Cases Does the Law Offices of Jason L. McCoy, LLC Handle?

Our experienced New Haven car accident lawyers represent clients injured in numerous types of car accidents, including but not limited to the following:

  • Head-on collisions
  • High-speed accidents
  • Multi-vehicle accidents
  • Rear-end collisions
  • Rideshare accidents
  • T-bone or side-impact accidents

What Are Connecticut’s Car Accident Laws?

If you are involved in a car accident in Connecticut, including as an out-of-state visitor, there are applicable laws you need to be aware of to avoid citations and other legal consequences:

  • Accident reporting: Car accidents resulting in injuries, fatalities, or property damage over $1,000 must be reported to the local police department or Connecticut State Police.
  • Duty to provide information: Drivers are required to exchange contact and insurance information and vehicle registration numbers and provide reasonable assistance to injured parties.
  • Hit-and-run: It is illegal to leave the scene of an accident without stopping, providing information, or helping injured persons.
  • Right-of-way: Drivers must yield to pedestrians in crosswalks when entering a highway or main road and at stop signs and traffic signals.
  • Seat belts: Seat belts are mandatory for all occupants in Connecticut, regardless of where they are sitting.

What Are Connecticut’s Laws Regarding Cell Phone Use?

Distracted driving has become the leading cause of car accidents throughout the United States and many states, and cell phone use while driving is the main reason. Connecticut has gotten aggressive in combatting distracted driving in recent years; it is now illegal to use hand-held cell phones or mobile electronic devices while operating a motor vehicle, including while stopped in traffic or at a light signal.

Connecticut law defines “mobile electronic devices” as any hand-held or portable electronic equipment capable of providing data communication between two or more people, including:

  • Digital photography equipment
  • Gaming equipment
  • Laptop computers
  • Personal digital assistants
  • Text messaging or paging devices
  • Video recording or playing equipment

Mobile electronic devices do not include audio equipment, vehicle-installed navigation, emergency or driving assistance equipment, or rear-seat video entertainment systems.

Is Car Insurance Required in Connecticut?

It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle in Connecticut without the required minimum car insurance. You are required to carry a minimum of $25,000 in bodily injury per person, $50,000 in bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 in property damage coverage. These types of liability insurance cover the damages caused to other people, not you. We strongly advise purchasing additional insurance, such as first-party coverage, to pay for your injuries and losses.

What Causes Car Accidents?

Car accidents can occur in a myriad of ways, the most common being distracted, drowsy, or drunk driving, speeding, tailgating, and weather.

What Should I Do if I Am Injured in an Accident?

Collecting evidence following a car accident can be vital in supporting your claim. If you are physically able, you should report the accident, photograph all relevant factors at the scene, ask witnesses for statements, exchange contact, and insurance information with the other driver, limit all conversation and do not apologize, and keep all accident-related records and documents. Most importantly, seek medical attention, even if your injuries are minor, and consult an experienced and successful New Haven car accident lawyer as soon as possible.

What Compensation Can Be Recovered in a Car Accident Claim?

If you sustain injuries in a car accident caused by someone else, you may be entitled to compensation for your injuries and losses, which is based on a combination of economic and non-economic damages.

Economic damages refer to the expenses incurred from the accident and your injuries. While there are many types of damages, the most common include:

  • Medical expenses, including emergency services, hospitalization, surgeries, medications, physical therapy, and any future required medical care due to the accident.
  • Lost wages if your injuries prevent working, including future earning capacity in long-term disability cases.
  • Property damage for repair or replacement of your vehicle and any other damaged personal property.

Non-economic damages refer to the intangible losses you have endured due to the accident and your injuries, such as:

  • Pain and suffering, meaning the emotional distress and physical pain caused by the accident and injuries.
  • Loss of life enjoyment when injuries impact your ability to enjoy daily life activities.
  • Emotional distress, including anxiety, depression, or post-traumatic stress disorder.
  • Loss of consortium when the accident impacts companionship and support in your romantic relationships.

What Is Modified Comparative Negligence?

Connecticut’s negligence laws establish a 51 percent modified comparative negligence, meaning you can only recover compensation if you have less than 50 percent fault for the accident. If you are found to be more than 50 percent at fault, you are barred from recovering compensation and can be liable for the other driver’s injuries and expenses.

Is There a Deadline to File Car Accident Claims?

You have limited time to file a car accident claim in Connecticut, known as the “statute of limitations.” You have two years from the accident date to file a car accident-related personal injury or property damage claim. If you lost a loved one due to a car accident, you have two years from the date of death to file a wrongful death claim, which may not be the same date as the accident.

Why Choose the Law Offices of Jason L. McCoy, LLC

Having an experienced New Haven car accident lawyer by your side plays a significant role in protecting your rights and preventing insurance companies from taking advantage of you. Our New Haven car lawyers have years of experience helping clients navigate the complexities of personal injury claims. They can provide the support and legal guidance you need during this difficult time. On your behalf, we can handle the following:

  • Investigate the accident scene and obtain police reports.
  • Interview witnesses.
  • Prepare and file required documents.
  • Consult your medical team regarding your ongoing care.
  • Hire experts, if necessary.
  • Negotiate maximum settlement.
  • Represent you in court.
  • Providing objective guidance and emotional support to save you time and expenses.

Our New Haven Car Accident Lawyers at the Law Offices of Jason L. McCoy, LLC Fight for Clients Injured by Reckless Drivers

If you or a loved one has suffered injuries in a collision, our New Haven car accident lawyers at the Law Offices of Jason L. McCoy, LLC are ready to help you seek the justice and compensation you deserve. Call today at 860-872-7741 or visit us online to schedule a free consultation. Located in Vernon, New Haven, and Waterbury, Connecticut, we proudly serve clients in Tolland County, New Haven County, and Hartford County.

Protect your assets and discharge your debts through bankruptcy. Get your financial freedom back, it's your constitutional right.

Free initial phone consultation to evaluate your situation.

Call us now (800) 837-5901.